New Testament Struggles

Well, I got off from work tonight with the idea of comparing amplifiers in my stereo but after reading the book of Romans tonight at work I had a million thoughts going through my head so I had to take a break from the music thing and put some stuff down.

So yes, once again for the 50 millionth time I am studying the new testament in the bible and more than ever I am walking away scratching my head (actually, it is more like I am scratching all the way down to my skull).  You know, I am all about Christians being freed from trying to live a life that is mixed between the old of the old testament and old covenant and the new of the new testament and the new covenant but the more that I read the new testament, which is supposed to be the magna carta for the gospel the more I can sympathize and empathize with why the modern evangelical Christians have such a schizophrenic relationship with God based on what they are learning from the new testament. 

Look guys and gals, in the end the fact is that the message is all fucked up in the new testament.  One minute you are reading that it is all about you and what you do (or don’t do) and the next minute it is all about Christ and what he did (and does).  No wonder Christians are so confused.

Right now I am hanging with the folks that are friends of Mike Williams and The Gospel Revolution.  You can find us on facebook.  I have known Mike for 18 years now and Mike has done more for me than any other preacher/teacher than anyone before or after.  However, there are problems.

One of the main things that Mike teaches is that redemption and salvation is not just for people that decide to believe in Jesus and accept him as their personal Lord and Savior, but as a result of the finished work of the cross redemption has been brought to all of mankind weather they believe or not.  Basically, every man, woman and child is already redeemed to God as a result of what Jesus did on the cross.  Sounds great.  And there are a lot a very good arguments for that doctrine.  The problem is that if you read the overwhelming amount of new testament versus that place an individual’s personal belief in Jesus as being the only requirement for redemption then it is not looking good for this doctrine. 

Look, I love all of my buddies that associate themselves with The Gospel Revolution and I can call some of them my new best friends.  But the more I study the new testament the more muddied and complicated this whole thing gets. 

I would love to believe that Jesus did it all on the cross.  All judgment, all wrath, all condemnation was taken care of on the cross.  Hell no longer exist.  I would also love to believe that redemption has been brought to all of mankind through the finished work of the cross.  But I also love the writings of the new testament and even though there are a seemingly a few verses that speak that it was the faith OF Christ that redeemed us to God there is also an overwhelming amount of verses that speak that it is faith IN Christ that redeems us to God.   The 800 pound gorilla in the room with believing that redemption is brought only to those who believe in Christ as their PERSONAL Lord and Savior is that you are also in one stroke of a pen condemning billions of people to condemnation that have never had the opportunity to do so. 

In the end I have to admit that I have a love hate relationship with the new testament of the bible.  I love the new testament and all that it has to speaks of Christ and the new covenant but I hate the new testament and all that it speaks of relating to God based on the laws of the old covenant and coming wrath and judgment. 

At this point I am totally dug in and am going to finish this gig of studying the new testament as it relates to the message that I am hearing from Mike Williams and The Friends of Mike Williams and the Gospel Revolution. 

Stay tuned for more. I am just a student.

Peace

Pinkwaters

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

