Houses of the Holy and Believing

Well, I got off of work tonight at 11:00 very much looking forward to coming home and doing my music thing.  I started off with my all time reference album which is Donald Fagan’s (Steely Dan) first solo album called The Nightfly.  The Nightfly is one of the best recorded albums off all time and is great for testing out my stereo and getting a good reference of where I am with my sound.  From there I figured it was time to switch things up so I went to my favorite Led Zeppelin album of all time which is Houses of the Holy.  I was really digging Houses of the Holy but all I could think about was how pissed off I was at Mike Williams for switching up the game and coming out and preaching a gospel that says that you don’t have to believe to be saves and as a result everyone on earth is saved (or redeemed…whatever).

I want the Mike of the 90’s back.  I want the Mike that preached such eloquent messages about how we have been freed from the law.  Why did Mike have to switch up the game and totally mind funk me (this is my blog and I can cuss all I want) with this message that it was the belief of Christ and not belief in Christ that saves us?

Then I had to take a step back and relate to the apostles for a second.  I am sure that they felt the same way that I do about Paul.  I sure that they were talking amongst themselves and saying the same thing about Paul.  If I could go back in time I am sure that I would here the conversation going something like this; “Well guys, we can all agree that we are all happy that this guy that used to persecute us is now with us but why and the hell is he teaching gentiles that they do not have to be circumcised to be saved???” You dig what I am saying here.  Now I feel like one of the apostles by saying that everything that Mike says about law and grace is great but you still have to believe to be saved.  Here in lies the 800 pound gorilla in the room.

What confronts me here is that I have to ask myself, “what is the option to not believing that the cross was a finished work for all of mankind”.  Well, the option is clear.  Billions of people are going to be judged by God and if you believe evangelical Christianity it also means that Billions of people are going to hell.  Well, how fucked up is that message?  I see no good news in that. 

The problem is all of those damn verses in the new testament that talk about believing unto salvation (both by Paul and others).  Josh and Jeff keep telling me that I need to throw my NIV version of the bible in the lake behind my house but come on, NIV or what there is still an overwhelming amount of verses that talk about believing in Christ verses the few that talk about the belief of Christ no matter what version you are reading. But once again, what are my options here?

Even though I have been a pretty good evangelist over the years (as many have told me…plug) I am still just a student seeking the truth.  I love Mike Williams and Jeff and Josh and Beres and Marjorie from the bottom of my heart but I am just keeping it real here.  In the end I can take great joy and knowing that we all love Jesus from the bottom of our heart.  I would not hang with you guys if that were not the case.  I just have to work out my now dysfunctional relationship with the new testament. 

Anyway, true to The Bohemian Junction the new album of the week is definitely Houses of the Holy by Led Zeppelin.  The Zep boys took a whole new direction here and they did like pro’s.  This is before Jimmy Page got hooked on smack and things started to get dicey.  A cut from Wikipedia:

Houses of the Holy is the fifth studio album by the English rock band Led Zeppelin, released by Atlantic Records on 28 March 1973. The album title is a dedication by the band to their fans who appeared at venues they dubbed “Houses of the Holy”. It was the second Led Zeppelin album not to be officially titled after the band. It was also the first of the band’s albums to be composed of completely original material. It represents a musical turning point for Led Zeppelin, as they began to use more layering and production techniques in recording their songs.

The album was certified eleven times platinum by the RIAA.[1] The title track was also recorded in the sessions for this album, but was left unreleased until its appearance on their next album, Physical Graffiti.

In 2012, Houses of the Holy was ranked number 148 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

The song of the day is No Quarter.  I have a lot of great stoned memories over this song.  There is actually a funny story attached to this song when one early morning, after staying up all night with a couple of groupies and my harmonica player this song came to light as we were walking back from fishing in a lake (what else is there to do after staying up all night after a gig right…as Marjorie would say LOL.) 

Anyways, hope you have enjoyed my latest rantings and will enjoy some good tunage.

Peace.

Pinkwaters

Click below for tunage:

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

